The Endless Android VS iPhone Debate

The battle of Android VS Apple has been ongoing for years now and everyone has their own opinion on the matter. Some may find the generative device, the Android system, more suited to their wants and needs, while others may be happy with the closed iPhone system even though it doesn’t offer the same opportunities as Android phones.

 
Admittedly I have an iPhone, which I had been putting off getting for quite some time due to all of the crazy and ridiculous flaws that the iPhone possessed. But as the iPhone 4S was released I was sucked in with the rest of the crowd, craving the phone that was hundreds of dollars more expensive than the past model with only minimal changes. Yes, I got ‘Siri’ but I promise you, she is not the slightest bit helpful or convenient. This iPhone is an example of locked device as Apple doesn’t allow for the user to make changes to the content of the device. This means that when you are handed an iPhone that is what you get, you are unable to make any changed to the software on the phone.

 
Then on the other hand you have the generative platform where the users are able to have more control over their device, allowing for changes in the software and making the possibilities limitless. An example of this generative platform is an Android phone and many people have been taking advantage of this open technology and using it to create the perfect device they want.


Now I do see the appeal of Android phones and the open devices but I am no software designer and the thought of being given this limitless device is overwhelming, I would have no idea where to even start. And while many people of my generation, as well as many others, have the ability to create their own codes and applications, I know that I am unable to do this, and I’m sure many of you would be in the same position. I don’t want to go out and buy a phone that I need to build on; I want to be given a finished devise which does everything I need it to do. Yes, I may be missing out on my phone becoming a remote control for the garage, but that’s what remote controls are for and truthfully I don’t find having a remote not on my phone too much of a hassle.

 
Overall, I do understand the appeal of generative devices and that the potential for Android phones are infinite. Android also allows for people to express themselves and craft their device into anything they want it to be, but at the end of the day I find that the iPhone runs much more smoothly and is a lot easier for me to operate and truthfully that all I need.

Until next time,

Kristine.

Sources:
Image

Leave a Reply

